BUREAU BLANK IS BUILDING BETTER BRANDS

(blog)

Archive for October 13th, 2009

The 100 mile photo-scape

leave a comment »

seth's-bike-ride

My friend Seth just did a 100 mile bike ride through New England to raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. To support him and help document his journey, his company Tellart, worked with him to develop a custom app for his iPhone that took pictures, mapped the course, and recorded rider info. They mounted the iPhone to the frame of his bike and used its GPS to trigger it to snap a picture ever 1/8 of a mile. The app also stamped each picture with the GPS location, time stamp and velocity profile. Added challenge – they had to rig up ways to keep the iPhone charged and operating for the full 8 hour ride. They’ve launched a site to document the results of the project, which is a pretty cool integration of technology. Check it here > http://photoscape.tellart.net/

Congrats Seth!

Written by Erin

October 13, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Apple and Disney = a wonderland of a store

with 2 comments

disney-mac

steve jobs does disney…now these are stores I have to see:

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/13/business/media/13disney.html?_r=1&em

(P.S. yes you will be seeing me walking back and forth in front of the mirrors with a tiara waiting for Cinderella to talk to me…)

Written by Erin

October 13, 2009 at 12:05 pm

Posted in Environmental

01 Play It Loud – My Brightest Diamond

leave a comment »

Here’s a beautiful cover of “Be My Husband” by My Brightest Diamond dedicated to my dear friends, Chris & Sara, getting hitched this weekend.

Congratulations guys!!

Written by Alison

October 13, 2009 at 11:57 am

Posted in Music

Really important poll

leave a comment »

Written by Leah

October 13, 2009 at 11:06 am

Posted in Poll

Access not ownership

leave a comment »

Better Than Owning (via KK.org)

Ownership is not as important as it once was.

I use roads that I don’t own. I have immediate access to 99% of the roads and highways of the world (with a few exceptions) because they are a public commons. We are all granted this street access via our payment of local taxes. For almost any purpose I can think of, the roads of the world serve me as if I owned them. Even better than if I owned them since I am not in charge of maintaining them. The bulk of public infrastructure offers the same “better than owning” benefits.

The web is also a social common good. The web is not the same as public roads, which are “owned” by the public, but in terms of public access and use, the web is a type of community good. The good of the web serves me as if I owned it. I can summon it in full, anytime, with the snap of a finger. Libraries share some of these qualities. The content of the books are not public domain, but their displays (the books) grant public access to their knowledge and information, which is in some ways better than owning them. more >

Written by Dan

October 13, 2009 at 9:02 am

Posted in Ideas